‘Most improved team’ aims for regular podiums and to compete as front-runners in season five




London, Wednesday 19 September, 2018 ­– ­­Panasonic Jaguar Racing today unveiled the all-new Jaguar I-TYPE 3 second-generation Formula E racecar at the Design Museum, London. The bold new design pushes the boundaries of innovation and technology, showcasing the future of electric motor racing.


The British team confirmed that Brazil’s Nelson Piquet Jr and New Zealander Mitch Evans will line up on the grid once again, to represent Panasonic Jaguar Racing in season five of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship. Last season, Piquet Jr and Evans contributed to Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s most successful season to date in 2017-18, as they more than quadrupled the team’s points from season three. The competition is set to be higher than before with an eleventh team joining the grid from the opening race in Ad Diriyah, Saudi Arabia on 15 December. This season Jaguar are aiming to compete as a front-running team, with regular podiums.


Panasonic Jaguar Racing have developed their entire powertrain in-house, reinforcing the team’s mission – ‘Race to Innovate’. These bespoke Jaguar components consist of the motor generator unit (MGU), silicon carbide module invertor, transmission, cooling system, suspension, motor control unit (MCU) and new powertrain control software. The advanced MGU revs in excess of 30,000 RPM, more than double the rate of a 2018 Formula 1 car, enabling the Jaguar I-TYPE 3 to accelerate from 0-100 KPH in 2.8 seconds.


With improved efficiency and comparable weight to the I-TYPE 2, the new powertrain is 25 per cent more efficient and produces up to 250kW (335PS). The Jaguar I-TYPE 3 has in excess of 800 new parts compared to I-TYPE 2. Over the last two seasons the I-TYPE 2 and I-TYPE 3 combined have had over 1000 new parts, demonstrating the consistent ongoing development programme which is making the team more competitive.


Improved battery technology allows Jaguar, and all other teams in ABB FIA Formula E, to drop the mandatory mid-race car swap. This season Formula E will introduce a hyperboost mode for all teams which will enable drivers to race for a period of time at a higher power level of 225kW, activated as they drive through a clearly marked activation zone. When drivers use hyperboost, their LED Halos (a new safety feature mandated by the FIA) will be illuminated in another colour for fans and spectators to identify who is using the higher power level.


Season 5 marks the next chapter of Jaguar Racing’s electrification journey as they prepare for the inaugural Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY series later this year. The world-first all-electric production based race series will be the official support championship to the ABB FIA Formula E Championship and will see up to twenty Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY racecars line up on the grid in the centre of a range of global cities.


  • GVs London Design Museum (external)
  • GVs I-TYPE 3 photocall
  • GVs Reveal Moment
  • IV James Barclay, Team Director, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  • IV Nelson Piquet Jr, Driver, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  • IV Mitch Evans, Driver, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  • IV Ho-Pin Tung, Driver, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  • IV Wayne Burgess, Production Studio Director & SVO Projects, Jaguar Land Rover
  • IV Craig Wilson, Race Director, Panasonic Jaguar Racing
  • IV Amanda Stretton, Brand Spokesperson
  • IV Vernon Kay, Presenter




Jaguar returned to racing in October 2016, becoming the first premium manufacturer to join the all-electric ABB FIA Formula E Championship street racing series.


Jaguar’s Formula E programme will create tangible R&D benefits for the electrification of future Jaguar and Land Rover road cars and is designed around the team’s founding principle, ‘Race to Innovate’. 


Manufacturers can design their own powertrain, which includes the motor, transmission, inverter and rear suspension. Common components across all teams to control costs include the carbon fibre chassis and battery. The focus is on developing electric vehicle powertrains. ABB Formula E unveiled earlier this year the Generation 2 racecars. Teams will now have one racercar per driver, and no longer be required to make the mandatory car swap.


Beyond its all-electric concept, Formula E is unique in the world of motorsport for its choice of venues. The championship takes place on temporary street circuits in the centre of the world’s major cities including Riyadh, Hong Kong, Sanya, Monaco, Rome, Paris and ending in a double header weekend in New York.  

19 September 2018