1 March 2023 Entertainment News


The 34th Annual Producers Guild Awards took place at the Beverly Hilton on Saturday, Feb. 25, 2023 in Beverly Hills, Calif.


Hollywood's finest graced the red carpet before the Producers Guild of America awards in Los Angeles on Saturday February 25th 2023.

Among those attending were Brendan Fraser, Michelle Yeoh, Jamie Lee Curtis, Michelle Williams, Amanda Seyfried, Sandra Oh, Cate Blanchett and Guillermo del Toro.

Tom Cruise was honored for his nearly three decades of work as a producer, and “Everything Everywhere All at Once” solidified its status as the frontrunner for the best picture Oscar by taking the top prize at the awards.

The award has proven to be perhaps the best indicator for what will win the top honor at the Oscars, with four of the past five and 11 of the past 14 PGA winners going on to win best picture.

PGA wins by “CODA” last year and “Nomadland” in 2021 set each apart as frontrunners before winning best picture.

Tom Cruise, Mindy Kaling, Angela Bassett, Austin Butler, Cate Blanchett, Michelle Williams, 
Patricia Arquette, Kate Hudson, Jamie Lee Curtis, Diego Luna, Bob Odenkirk, Brendan Fraser, Stephen Colbert, Michelle Yeoh, Ron Howard, Sacha Baron Cohen, Sandra Oh, Stephanie Hsu, Leslie Odom Jr., & More Attended the Guild’s Annual Awards for Outstanding Achievements in Producing
•    Tom Cruise Accepting the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures: https://f.io/xMuafjHF
•    Mindy Kaling Accepting the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television: https://f.io/jGLNEXWW
•    B.J. Novak Presenting to Mindy Kaling: https://f.io/fpaxJp_p
•    Everything Everywhere All At Once Wins Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures: https://f.io/nnZhF7V0
•    Red Carpet & Backstage: https://f.io/tdhfnq0C 
•    All In-Show Speeches (link to come)
•    Red Carpet: https://invision.dfstudio.com/go/im/aad0c5f1-5cf8-4ef2-8b5e-3bd240a1af6f 
•    Cocktail Reception: https://invision.dfstudio.com/go/im/678242eb-d086-4013-b5a5-192059cbf417 
•    Show: https://invision.dfstudio.com/go/im/24cf3d9e-52df-4465-9811-0c32f149e590  
•    Backstage: https://invision.dfstudio.com/go/im/5bd36e67-b70b-42ec-ad4b-232382a40baf 
*Credit: Courtesy of the Producers Guild of America
LOS ANGELES (February 25, 2023) – The Producers Guild of America (PGA) hosted the 34th Annual Producers Guild Awards tonight at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.
The evening recognized influential film producers and entertainment icons with special honors including Tom Cruise with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures; Mindy Kaling with the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television; Michael De Luca and Pamela Abdy with the Milestone Award; and “Till” with the Stanley Kramer Award.
Presenters, honorees, and nominees at the ceremony included Angela Bassett, Anjelah Johnson-Reyes, Austin Butler, Billy Eichner, B.J. Novak, Bob Odenkirk, Brendan Fraser, Cate Blanchett, Danielle Deadwyler, Dave Burd, Diego Luna, Eugenio Derbez, Hannah Einbinder, Hong Chau, Jamie Lee Curtis, Jay Ellis, Kate Hudson, Ke Huy Quan, Kerry Condon, Leslie Odom Jr, Michelle Williams, Michelle Yeoh, Mo Amer, Monica Barbaro, Nicole Byer, Paul Dano, Robert Rodriguez, Ron Howard, Sacha Baron Cohen, Sandra Oh, Sherry Lansing, Stephanie Hsu, and Stephen Colbert among many more. 
The complete winners list for the 34th Annual Producers Guild Awards is listed below: 
Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures
•    Everything Everywhere All At Once 
Producers: Jonathan Wang, p.g.a., Dan Kwan, p.g.a., Daniel Scheinert, p.g.a.
Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures
•    Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio 
Producers: Guillermo Del Toro, p.g.a., Gary Ungar, p.g.a., Alex Bulkley, p.g.a.
Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Drama
•    The White Lotus 
Producers: Mike White, David Bernad, Mark Kamine, Heather Persons, John M. Valerio
Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television - Comedy
•    The Bear 
Producers: Joanna Calo, Josh Senior, Christopher Storer, Hiro Murai, Rene Gube, Tyson Bidner
David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Limited or Anthology Series Television
•    The Dropout 
Producers: Elizabeth Meriwether, Katherine Pope, Michael Showalter, Jordana Mollick, Rebecca Jarvis, Taylor Dunn, Victoria Thompson, Liz Heldens, Liz Hannah, Hilton Smith, Dan LeFranc, Amanda Seyfried, Hilary Bettis, Megan Mascena
Award for Outstanding Producer of Televised or Streamed Motion Pictures
•    Weird: The Al Yankovic Story 
Producers: Whitney Hodack, p.g.a., Mike Farah, p.g.a., Joe Farrell, p.g.a., Lia Buman, p.g.a., Max Silva, p.g.a., Al Yankovic, p.g.a.
Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television
•    Stanley Tucci: Searching for Italy 
Producers: Tom Barry, Adam Hawkins, Eve Kay, Stanley Tucci, Francesco Ficarra, Shauna Minoprio, Robin O’Sullivan, Fiona Cleary
Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment, Variety, Sketch, Standup & Talk Television
•    Last Week Tonight with John Oliver 
Producers: John Oliver, Tim Carvell, Liz Stanton, Jon Thoday, James Taylor, Jeremy Tchaban, Catherine Owens, Whit Conway, Kaye Foley, Laura L. Griffin, Christopher McDaniel, Kate Mullaney, Matt Passet, Megan Peck Shub, Wynn Van Dusen, Marian Wang, Charles Wilson
Award for Outstanding Producer of Game & Competition Television
•    Lizzo's Watch Out For The Big Grrrls 
Producers: Lizzo, Makiah Green, Kevin Beisler, Julie Pizzi, Farnaz Farjam, Myiea Coy, Kimberly Goodman, Glenda N. Cox, Alana Balden
The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Picture
•    Navalny
Producers: Odessa Rae, p.g.a., Diane Becker, p.g.a. &  Melanie Miller, p.g.a., Shane Boris, p.g.a.
**The categories below were previously announced at the PGA Awards East Coast Nominees Celebration on February 21st, and the PGA Awards West Coast Nominees Celebration on February 23rd. 
The Award for Outstanding Sports Program
•    Tony Hawk: Until the Wheels Fall Off
The Award for Outstanding Children's Program
•    Sesame Street (Season 52)
2023 PGA Innovation Award
•    Stay Alive, My Son
The Award for Outstanding Short-Form Program
•    Only Murders in the Building: One Killer Question (Season 2)
The Producers Guild Awards are often a bellwether for the Oscars. Since its inception, the PGA has  predicted 23 of the 33 winners of the Academy Award for Best Picture.
The 2023 Producers Guild Awards Event Chairs are Mike Farah, Chief Executive Officer at Funny Or Die, and Joe Farrell, Chief Creative Officer at Funny Or Die. The 2023 Producers Guild of America Awards are produced by Anchor Street Collective for the Producers Guild of America. Branden Chapman is Executive Producer, Carleen Cappelletti is Co-Executive producer, Matt Ullian and Jane Sarkin of Boldface Partners are talent executives, and Jim Piccirillo is Director. The PGA Awards team also includes Diane Salerno (Six Degrees Global) managing sponsorship, and the PGA’s PR agency of record, Sunshine Sachs Morgan & Lylis for PR.
Sponsors of the 2023 Producers Guild Awards include Cadillac, the Official Vehicle, Delta Air Lines, the Official Airline, Glenfiddich Scotch, and GreenSlate, a PGA Partner.
Any questions regarding the 2023 PGA Awards can be submitted to PGAAwards@ssmandl.com
# # #

1 March 2023